Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Academic Honor Squad Award

Women's Lacrosse Earns IWLCA Academic Honor Squad Award

2014 IWLCA Academic Honor Roll Squads

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – By maintaining a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0, the Endicott women's lacrosse team earned a spot on the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Honor Squads list. The list names 125 NCAA Division III institutions including five Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) members in Endicott, Roger Williams, Salve Regina University, University of New England, and Western New England.

The IWLCA Academic Honor Squads were released on Monday by Executive Director Gothard Lane and honored 254 NCAA institutions from across Division I, II, and III.

Along with their academic prowess throughout the 2013-14 academic year, the Gulls women's lacrosse team continued their athletic excellence by raising their ninth consecutive CCC Championship trophy and advancing into the Second Round of the NCAA Division III Tournament for the second straight year this past spring. Endicott went 14-4 (7-1 CCC) in 2014 behind the stellar play of IWLCA All-Pilgrim Region First Teamers Kelsey Barnes (Mendham, N.J.) and Ellie Clayman (Beverly, Mass.) as well as IWLCA All-Pilgrim Region Second Team winners Callie Murphy (Woburn, Mass.), Rachel Campos (Shrewsbury, Mass.), and Emily Whitney (Rye, N.H.).

Barnes (Defensive Player of the Year), Murphy (Offensive Player of the Year, and Whitney (Rookie of the Year) also earned CCC major awards for their on the field performances this year.