Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Record-Setting 13 Players Recognized on All-CCC Men's Lacrosse Teams

Record-Setting 13 Players Recognized on All-CCC Men's Lacrosse Teams

2015 All-CCC Men's Lacrosse Teams Release
Endicott Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Winners

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – A program record 13 Endicott men's lacrosse players, including two individual award winners, earned a spot on the 2015 All-CCC Men's Lacrosse Teams as it was announced today by league commissioner Gregg M. Kaye. Five-time CCC Offensive Player of the Week Nick Pinciaro (Beverly, Mass.) was named Offensive Player of the Year while former Rookie of the Year Cameron Bell (Falmouth, Maine) collected his second consecutive CCC Defensive Player of the Year award.

Eighteenth-year head coach Sean Quirk was honored as CCC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career and will lead the Gulls, ranked #10 in the country and fifth in the region, in search of their eighth conference championship starting with next Wednesday's CCC Semifinal round. The Gulls are currently 13-3 overall and own the top-seed in the CCC Tournament after posting an undefeated 8-0 mark in conference play this spring.

CCC Offensive Player of the Year
Senior attacker Nick Pinciaro 

Pinciaro is a senior attacker who posted a career-high 50 goals with 19 assists which placed him second in the CCC with 69 overall points. His 50-goal season and 12 man-up goals are tied with Second Team All-CCC honoree Ryan Coakley from Wentworth. Pinciaro converted 52.1% of his shot attempts into goals this season. He also added 28 groundballs and three caused turnovers to his 2015 totals.

Bell went 13-3 between the pipes during the regular season and for the third straight year surrendered under 10 goals a game as he averaged 9.50 goals against. Bell sported .557 save percentage as he made 157 total saves this spring. He was also named to the All-CCC First Team for the third season in-a-row.

Joining Pinciaro and Bell on the All-CCC First Team were seniors Harrison Cotter (Lordship, Conn.) and Ian Knechtle (New Canaan, Conn.), junior Fabian Brunner (Niskayuna, N.Y.), and sophomores Colin Bannon (Westport, Conn.), Tommy Hughes (Coram, N.Y.), and Will Jennings (Danvers, Mass.).

Cotter collects his third career All-CCC First Team award after posting a 25-goal, 19-assist regular season with 37 groundballs and six caused turnovers. Five of his 25 goals were man-up. Bannon has posted 35 goals and a personal-best 31 assists in just his second collegiate season after earning an All-CCC First Team and Rookie of the Year nod in 2014. Bannon also totaled 29 groundballs, four caused turnovers, and four man-up goals this season.  Jennings, a key piece to Endicott's high-powered attack this season, earned his first-ever postseason accolade after a career year that saw the sophomore end the regular season with 27 goals, seven on the man-advantage, and 10 assists.

CCC Defensive Player of the Year
Junior goalie Cameron Bell 

Knechtle returned to the All-CCC First Team after being named Honorable Mention in his first year with the Gulls in 2014 after earning prior recognition as a First Teamer as a sophomore at Gordon. Knechtle ranked third in the CCC with 31 caused turnovers and sixth in groundballs with 67 while providing quality transition from defense to offense for a Gulls team that averaged 83.4% on clear attempts. He also provided an offense spark at times with two goals and three assists.

Brunner, a junior defenseman who stepped into a starting role this season, shined with 17 caused turnovers and 20 groundballs. Brunner stepped up in big games this year with a four caused turnover game both in an early-season CCC test against Roger Williams and a mid-year road win over Wentworth.

With new face-off rules in place for the 2015 season, specialist Tommy Hughes won 56.0% of his face-offs and collected a CCC-best 125 groundballs, an average of 7.8 per game. Hughes also set new highs with three goals and three assists in his sophomore campaign. Hughes was an All-CCC Second Team winner as a freshman.

Four players were placed on the All-CCC Second Team including seniors Jeremy Morgan (Lake Panamoka, N.Y.), Sam Scoba (Franklin, Mass.), and Kyle Weber (West Hartford, Conn.) and junior defenseman Ben Katzen (Blauvelt, N.Y.).

Weber, the conference's third-leading goal scorer behind Coakley and Pinciaro with 48 goals, takes home his third CCC postseason award after earning Honorable Mention as a sophomore and Second Team as a junior. Weber's 48 goals were a career-high, eight of which came on man-up situations. He also had seven assists for a total of 55 points while adding 35 groundballs and eight caused turnovers. Morgan collects his second straight All-CCC Second Team award as he posted 10 goals, 16 assists, 21 groundballs, and four caused turnovers during the regular season.

Scoba won a spot on the All-CCC Second Team for his first collegiate postseason honor. Scoba totaled 26 groundballs and seven caused turnovers while netting two goals and assisting on another for three points. Katzen stepped into a starting role in his junior year and was part of Endicott's lockdown defense effort with 21 caused turnovers and 21 groundballs en route to earning an All-CCC Second Team nod.

Endicott's final honoree on the 2015 All-CCC Men's Lacrosse Teams is Third Team freshman defenseman Michael Ryan (Falmouth, Maine). Despite missing part of the regular season to injury, Ryan was an integral part of Endicott's defensive front as he totaled six caused turnovers and 16 groundballs.