Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Siden leads NECC All-Conference honorees as Player of the Year

Siden leads NECC All-Conference honorees as Player of the Year
Talk about Endicott Men's Volleyball on Twitter     

BEVERLY, Mass. – Senior outside hitter Jeremy Siden (Natick, Mass.) was named the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Player of the Year as he led the Gulls into the NECC Tournament as the \#1 seed with an unblemished 12-0 mark and an appearance in the championship match in 2012. 

Siden, also a First Team honoree, was joined by senior middle blocker Joshua Bruno (Andover, Mass.) who was also put on the NECC’s First Team All-Conference list.  Junior right side Matt Devendorf (Glastonbury, Conn.) earned an Honorable Mention nod for his efforts this spring.

Siden ranked third amongst conference players in hitting percentage (.328), kills per set (3.13), digs per set (2.63) while ranking fifth in points per set (3.4).  His 94 overall kills in NECC matches were a team-high as were his 79 digs.  Siden was a two-time NECC Player of the Week winner.

Bruno posted a .460 hitting percentage in ten conference matches as a senior and led the league in blocks per set (1.27).  He was a one-time NECC Player of the Week.

Devendorf was a high-impact player for the Blue and Green this season, posting 57 kills, a .336 hitting percentage, and 25 blocks in NECC matches. 

Siden, Bruno, and Devendorf lead Endicott in the 2012 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III North Men’s Volleyball Tournament as the \#2 seed this weekend.  The Gulls are hosting the tournament and will face off with \#3-seeded Albertus Magnus at 11:00 am on Saturday morning. 

Player of the Year
Jeremy Siden, Endicott (Sr, OH - Natick, Mass.)

Defensive Player of the Year
Nick Haggerty, Southern Vt. (Sr, LB - Wynantskill, N.Y.)

Rookie of the Year
Joseph Dighton, Southern Vt. (Fr, MH - Riverside, Calif.)

Coach of the Year
Sheila Gisbrecht, Elms

Team Sportsmanship Award
Regis College

All-Conference First Team
Joshua Bruno, Endicott (Sr, MB - Andover, Mass.)
Joseph Dighton, Southern Vt. (Fr, MH - Riverside, Calif.)
Joel Hendrix, Daniel Webster (Fr, MB - Kane'ohe, Haw.)
Bryson Rainey, Elms (So, MH - Brookline, Mass.)
Jeremy Siden, Endicott (Sr, OH - Natick, Mass.)
Joe Walz, Daniel Webster (So, OH - East Longmeadow, Mass.)

Honorable Mention
Yonalvy Acosta, Elms (Sr, OH - Holyoke, Mass.)
Anthony Barahona, Southern Vt. (So, OH - Eagle Rock, Calif.)
Stephen Cameron, Elms (Jr, OH - Newington, Conn.)
Matt Devendorf, Endicott (Jr, RS - Glastonbury, Conn.)
Daniel Lebron, Elms (So, S - San Juan, Puerto Rico)